Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Spring at last in Oz!

6 Comments

It’s been a long dreary winter and although we had a good start to spring it didn’t last long. Today it’s finally looking like spring–the forecast is for 26c (78.8f) and the sun is shining. I should add I don’t represent all of Australia here, just one little spot on the map.

I’m not a fan of summer and soon I’ll be complaining it’s too hot, but spring is lovely–even my garden, neglected as it is, is brimming with flowering shrubs and buzzing with bees. The streets are lined with blossoming trees and everyone is out and about with their dogs enjoying the sunshine. Which reminds me I must take our mutt for a walk too. Poor thing doesn’t get out much when it’s wet and cold.

Does the weather affect your mood? I know some people are seriously affected when the sun doesn’t shine for weeks on end but I think it’s a bit depressing for most of us. I love a good thunderstorm and it’s nice and cosy sitting in front of the heater on a cold rainy day but after a few days like that I’m really longing for some sunshine.

I slipped over on the kitchen floor last week and sprained my finger. A silly little accident that has kept me away from writing for a week. It’s almost healed now and I need to get back into writing mode. It’s too easy to get used to chilling out and doing nothing–well, it is for me anyway.

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner. Most are also with D2D as ebooks.

6 thoughts on “Spring at last in Oz!

  1. Those first few warm days are a welcome relief after a cold winter. Not that we get many cold winters here. But it’s probably somewhat like I’m feeling now that we have (hopefully) seen the last 100+ day for a while – at least until next May. Cooler temperatures (but not cold) from now through April; yes, that’s why we live here! 🙂

  2. It doesn’t get that cold here by most people’s standards, apart from the frosty mornings, but it has been especially dreary this winter and we all need a good dose of sunshine.

  3. Ah… I so wish it was spring up here! I’m seething with green envy.

    I hope your finger is better soon.

    Cheers

    MTM

  4. Ah yes! The advent of our 2nd spring in Perth was delectable, but short lived. What we didn’t bargain for were high velocity winds, spates of rain and gloomy, cloudy skies! It is spring though – flowers are popping up just about everywhere and loving it, as should we, for Heaven knows WA could do with every drop that falls our way. Sunny days will follow, soon enough.

Leave a comment