Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Farewell Kindle Unlimited–Hello World

2 Comments

I’ve been taking all my books from Kindle Unlimited, one at a time as their exclusivity runs out and they’re now all done. Kindle Unlimited, for those who don’t know, is an Amazon service readers can join, for, I think, a monthly payment, and then borrow ebooks rather than buy them outright. For anyone who reads a lot it’s probably a good deal and a good way to check out new authors. For the authors it’s not such a good deal and seems to be paying less every month. It’s not a set amount but depends on the number of readers. It worked out at less than half what the royalty was for most of my books and it seems to me that as KU became more popular my actual sales went down. Also if you want your books in KU they have to be exclusive to Amazon, which mine have been for years, and I decided it was time for a change.

I was particularly interested in making my books available on iTunes because I know lots of readers like the convenience of reading on their phones. Draft2Digital distributes to Apple, as well as Barnes and Noble, Kobo and many others, including Amazon. It’s all pretty easy although it took me a few attempts to get the formatting right. You have to make sure your chapter headings are different to the rest of the page–larger font and bold seems to work well–otherwise the computerised formatting doesn’t recognise them as headings. After the first two or three I finally got the hang of it and found it simple. I loved the options of creating different effects as well; depending on the type of book there’s little motifs you can use in your chapter headings, and drop caps, which make the whole thing look that little bit more professional.

It’s Spring here in Oz and I’m sitting in my office with the heater full bore. Much warmer weather is forecast for next week and I know it won’t be long and it’ll be too damn hot!

books2read.com/StonyCreek                                                    books2read.com/Karinya

book2 karinya ebook

Stony Creek

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

2 thoughts on “Farewell Kindle Unlimited–Hello World

  1. I gave KU a try and left toot sweet. 🙂 Sorry, I couldn’t resist. Just finished dinner and it’s still warm outside. So not ready for the 30 C forecast for Wednesday. :/

  2. And here it is, Wednesday. I don’t know where you are but it’s supposed to be 30 here today and this is the first day this Spring that I’m not wearing trackies!

    I did pretty well from KU for a while but it seems to me that sales dropped at the same time. A lot of authors have dropped out.

Leave a Reply

