Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Blasting Pirates

2 Comments

I don’t plan to start advertising businesses, apart from the unavoidable popups, but if I come across something I think is worth sharing, I will. There’s a company/program/app/whatever you call it, that’s still in the beta stage and is, I think free for now. It certainly cost me nothing, which will surprise no-one who’s been reading my blog for long! Anyway what Blasty does is find out where an author’s books are being pirated and then send alerts. All you have to do is go through the list and press the orange blast button. Fun! I was resigned to the fact that my books were vulnerable to piracy, but I had no idea how many there were out there. Blasty found over 100 and I blasted them all! This is my invitation link which is a little weird and I’m pretty sure I don’t get free Tupperware or anything else (if I do I’ll let you know–full disclosure!) but it might mean you get it free.

Please don’t assume I know anything about the safety of this or any other program/app or whatever. I did do a little research but you should do some too. I can tell you I haven’t had any problems: https://www.blasty.co/invitation/2DRw3RpU

In other news, I’ve decided to ditch Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited and am taking all my books off when their exclusivity runs out. I’ve already put several across to Draft to Digital, which makes them available on iTunes and Barnes and Noble, and more. They’ll still be on Amazon, for sale only on Amazon.com and Amazon.UK

 

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

2 thoughts on “Blasting Pirates

  1. Christine, I just tried Blasty for two of my books. I found a number of websites offering them for free. I have mixed feelings about this. At least they aren’t making a profit off of my books or claiming them to be their own books. In some ways they might be helping me get the word out about the books. What are your thoughts on this? This is all new territory for me.

  2. That’s pretty much how I felt before | found out my books were on over 100 pirate sites! I did contact Amazon and they said a lot of the sites don’t even have the books but just use them as bait to get people’s details. Personally I’d prefer my name be well out of all that but I’m sure there are much better known authors there too. If it was up to me to track them all down I doubt I’d bother but it’s easy with Blasty, and you can pick and choose if you don’t want to blast them all.

Leave a Reply

