Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Creating with Createspace: The eStore

2 Comments

I’ve been publishing with Createspace, Amazon’s paperback branch, for four years and have ten books there now, but I’m still learning! I was always vaguely aware there must be a way to buy directly from Createspace rather than through Amazon, because I always buy my own print copies that way. I don’t tend to buy print copies of other writers because, obviously, ebooks are much cheaper, but I like to have some copies of my own books on my bookshelf. Almost all my sales are ebooks but there are still a few people who are happy to pay the postage costs because they don’t like ebooks. It’s also gratifying to see some of my books have been bought by a few libraries now in random areas of Australia; I have no idea if any overseas libraries have them.

I don’t remember where I first heard about the Createspace eStore and I didn’t bother looking into it at first but I’ve been having a bit of downtime (ie not writing) and I decided to have a proper look. It turns out that when you publish with Createspace your book automatically has its own page in the Createspace eStore but no-one knows about it unless you tell them. In case I’m not the only one who likes to waste time fiddling about with extra work relating to self-publishing I’m going to try to make it easy for other writers.

not guilty 2014 coverGo to your book title on your Createspace page and then to Channels. Click on the eStore setup, which is pretty self-explanatory. If you want to choose a background colour for your page you can, and you can also add a banner at the top which is the fun part. I had some problems with this at first but I’m somewhat of a frustrated artist and I like finding the right photos and I quite like fiddling around to make them fit. That’s the important thing–if they don’t fit they just won’t go through. You can put a link to your Amazon page and also some text if you like, which will be your link. It’s all easier than it sounds–the only problem I had was not understanding about the photo size for the banners. They really need to be 760 pixels wide and 100 pixels high. Then of course it’s up to you how and if you want to promote your eStore page. There’s even an option for having a private page if, for example, your book is a family history and not intended for the public you can make it password only.

I’m listing the eStore pages for my four most popular books–they’re all on my Books page if you want to check out the others. They’re also still available as paperback or ebooks at Amazon.com and Amazon UK.

If you’d like two or more of my paperbacks message me on facebook and I’ll send you a discount code for 20% off at Createspace.

Not Guilty: https://www.createspace.com/4115238

Stony Creek: https://www.createspace.com/4523872

The Road to Karinya: https://www.createspace.com/5152819

Red Wine and Summer Storms: https://www.createspace.com/5869812

Let me know what you think and if this is new to you or I’m the only one who didn’t know about it!

Stony Creek book2 karinya ebook

 

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

2 thoughts on “Creating with Createspace: The eStore

  1. You can also give a discount for your books. Under channels estore there is a link for discount codes. Just click on it, click on link to get a discount code, then apply it to your book. I offer discounts to people who receive my newsletter, however in order to use the discounts they have to buy through the createspace estore, not Amazon. Even when I include links, people are reluctant to do this. They tend to want to go through Amazon.

Leave a Reply

