Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Stuck in a time warp?

6 Comments

Do you tend to read or write in one particular era? I have an aversion to the 1920s, possibly because I’ve seen too many bad movies about that era. Other than that my first love was historical fiction, simply because I find history fascinating, and my second love was science fiction because I’m equally fascinated with the future. I’m always interested in the way different writers imagine our world in the future, or indeed other worlds.

When I started writing, my first novel was set in the 26th century and my second novel was set in both contemporary times and the 19th century, so no favoritism there! My latest two (Stony Creek and Dark Innocence) are set mainly in the 1960s and 1970s and I do find I rather enjoy writing about a time I have some personal memories of. I’ve just started another set in the 70s, which has some of my own experiences of living in Queensland and camping on the beach but most of it is pure fiction. I don’t have a name for it yet and I’ll probably be asking for help when I’ve finished, but that won’t be for a while yet. I’m not a very well-disciplined writer, unfortunately–life gets in the way sometimes. Often.

It’s looking like winter has arrived here and it is in fact the first day of winter so I can’t complain. It’s wet but not that cold yet–at least not inside! The trees are beautiful but they’ll soon be bare and we’ll be looking forward to spring. Not summer though. I don’t like summer much at all.

I have a couple of freebies for you this week–one from the future and one from the past! ‘Demented Mothers‘ is about infanticide in the early 20th century in Australia. This is not written as a true crime; it is a university thesis, so won’t be for everyone, but if you have an interest in the subject check it out. Free one day only, June 1st (USA time). Link for UK readers.doglastkinblog

The other one is ‘Last Chance’, which I wrote for pre-teen kids, but I’d be interested in others’ opinions as to what age it’s best suited to. It’s about a town destroyed by war and the aftermath, which sounds pretty grim, but ultimately it’s about hope. Anyway it’s free, so you may as well grab it, right? Free for 2 days, June 1st and 2nd. UK readers.

Cheers and happy first day of summer or winter, depending on where you are.

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

6 thoughts on “Stuck in a time warp?

  1. I avoid writing about right now. It might be historical, or the science fiction future, but not today.

  2. Hm. Interesting question. My short stories have generally been about what I know so current era. My first novel is set in the 1830s and centers around the Cherokee Trail of Tears; it’s a story that I had percolating in my brain for 20 some years before I finally signed up for NaNoWriMo in 2011 and wrote it. My second NaNo novel from 2012 starts in the mists of time and hits several different time periods before ending in the present day. I’m still working on both but find editing tedious. It’s so much more fun writing!

  3. Sounds fascinating Ruth. I confess I don’t mind editing, as I was a freelance editor before I started writing novels. It is harder editing your own work though!

  4. I tend to be all over the place! Medieval low-fantasy worlds, present day Chicago, New England, and Paris, and a sort of sci-fi-fantasy-reimagination-of-history… which we’ll regulate to Steampunk/Gaslamp fiction. I LOVE research, but I also love ‘what if…’

  5. I am in awe of writers of historical fiction and those who write about future or distant worlds. It seems enough work to create characters to populate a world I’m familiar with. I definitely chose to write in a setting and time I’m familiar with.

Leave a Reply

