Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Going Home. And coming back home again.

5 Comments

I’ve just been back to my home town, a trip I’ve been doing at least once a year for my mother’s birthday. She turned 94 and is well, but I’m always very conscious of the fact it could be the last time I see her. Of course I could die tomorrow myself but you know what I mean. Mum has already outlived her parents but her grandfather was 98 when he died, so we have good genes.

It always feels a little odd going home, because of course it’s not my home anymore. I’ve lived in Bendigo now for over 20 years and this is home but Mildura is where I spent most of my childhood and those teenage years I remember so well. It’s curious how places I’ve lived and people I knew pop up in my stories, almost of their own accord. Not that I would deliberately use any actual person in any of my fiction stories, but they are all influenced in some way by real people. At least the best ones are.

Place is something I’ve certainly made use of in stories and experiences of my own, like hitch-hiking to the river on a hot day and running across burning bitumen with bare feet, both of which I’m using in the story I’m working on now, ‘Dark Innocence‘. My last book, ‘Stony Creek’, is a rural romance and I used my own memories of living in Melbourne as well as attending a wool-shed dance in the outback as a child. I did grow up in a country town, but I had to research for that one, my knowledge of life in the outback being minimal. Quite a lot came from the recesses of my memory locker though! I suspect writing in 1st person makes it easier to access those memories and I chose to do that, as doubtful as I was at how that would be received. It’s actually doing very well on Amazon so there are clearly plenty of readers who are happy to read in 1st person.

So after driving around Mildura and visiting some of the old haunts with my sister, as well as a very nice new art gallery, and seeing my other siblings and a couple of nephews and nieces, I’m back home and happy to be here.

Details on all my books at Amazon.com and Amazon UK. Happy reading.

 

 

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

5 thoughts on “Going Home. And coming back home again.

  1. I reckon this anti first person thing is just a fad and I’m convinced that readers really don’t care, so long as whatever we do suits the story. My next one’s going to be in the first person because it works better like that. It also makes for less complication because you have the main protagonist in nearly every scene. 😉 And after the K’Barthan Trilogy I’m feeling like something less complicated.

    Cheers

    MTM

  2. Mmm. I do think my current story works best in 1st person but I’m slightly concerned it’s becoming a habit. Maybe next one should be back to 3rd.

  3. As a child I lived at Gordon, a suburb of Sydney. Through our backyard ran Stony Creek. In summer the water was low enough that my brothers and I would traipse along the creek to a nearby fern-overgrown valley traversing which was a marvelous wooden pedestrian bridge. Its shown in my blog http://krandis.com/kuringai-all-in-the-family/ The bridge is long gone, but my memories linger on. It was a recent visit that made me think about relatives who lived in the area and hence my little write-up. Cheers Warren

    • Sounds like a lovely spot, Warren. Did you notice I have a novel called Stony Creek? Not at all like your creek though! I lived in Caringbah, in Sydney, for about a year, 1966, and have some great memories of that time, but I’m basically a country girl.

      • It was seeing the name of your book that actually reminded me of my boyhood address. My Dad was born and raised in Penrith and we spent every available spare moment in the Blue Mountains where my folks eventually retired. As well I went to ANU and made lots of ‘country’ friends. In fact one of my best mates was from Deniliquin, and another from Yass where I used to go and work on his Dad’s sheep farm whenever I could. Lots of ‘country’ in me too, although not to the same extent as you.

Leave a Reply

