Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Wasting Time–Summer Daze

10 Comments

I realise most of you are on the other side of the world and some are suffering very severe cold weather conditions so I apologize in advance for complaining about the heat again! I just seem unable to do anything very constructive of late and I’ve come to the conclusion I should be hibernating for the summer. It just doesn’t suit me at all, not when it’s several days in a row of over 40 celsius here in Oz. (That’s 104 F.) The creative side of my brain seems to be in a summer daze while the more practical side is still able to cope with those chores I really have to do.

A lot of the time I consider wasted has been used up attempting to re-format some of my books for Smashwords–I’m not even sure why I bothered except it seems logical they may as well be available in as many places as possible. So far about half of my attempts have succeeded, one with a lot of help from a nice woman at Smashwords, The other half haven’t gone through and I’ve decided not to persevere at the moment; to be honest I can’t be bothered. I’ve had very few sales through Smashwords anyway but there are certain advantages–I’ve been able to make books available free there on a permanent basis, which I’ve chosen to do with ‘What Did You Say?’, which is a very short ebook on grammar and punctuation. There’s also an interview on Smashwords, which is not available on Amazon.

Apart from that, Amazon rules, and, while I may attempt to publish more with Smashwords from time to time, I am NOT wasting too much time, time that could be spent writing, on their crazy formatting.

So instead of writing or re-formatting today, I’ve spent a bit of time adding excerpts to my list of books here, so have a look at my book page. Probably not terribly well formatted–I’ll get to that one day. Or not! I’ve also been to the library for the first time this summer and am planning to waste some time this week reading a novel. Or two. In front of the air conditioner.

Happy Reading.

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

10 thoughts on “Wasting Time–Summer Daze

  1. I know what that heat is like; I live in Arizona! Right now it’s a balmy 70 (F) something for a few days – and this is our winter! So I totally understand the lethargy!

  2. I tried to format the memoir of my friend Norman for Kindle but got so frustrated by the pictures. It takes a great deal of patience for any of that, especially when you just want to write. Be of good courage and I wish we could send some of our rain from England to cool you down. Life is full of extremes at the moment. All the best Diana

  3. I one of the people dealing with the cold, and I’m having similar problems. Can’t seem to get my brain working as often lately. I’m mostly blaming my fibromyalgia, but maybe I should think about hibernating too. 😉

  4. Ah, you are welcome to the wind and rain we are having here! I’ll take your boiling Australian sun any day! Phnark. If it’s any consolation, my brain seems to have frozen.

Leave a Reply

