Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

What’s your favourite thing about the Internet?

10 Comments

I love Google–don’t we all? All the information you can imagine at your fingertips, from–where have we seen that actor before?–to what will we have for dinner tonight? I have a bookshelf full of encyclopaedias because–well, they look nice and besides I always wanted them. When I was growing up our encyclopaedias were a window to a world we knew very little about and a constant source of entertainment. (Yes, I was a bit of a nerd.) Now we have Google. It’s not quite as accurate of course and we do need to be a bit cautious about, for example, taking as gospel that those symptoms that kept us up all night can be cured with a visit to the Google doctor rather than the local GP. We also need to be careful about what our kids are reading and believing, but, all in all, I think Google’s brilliant.

I also love email and don’t know how I ever managed without it. If our Internet connection ever spits the dummy I feel quite isolated, as if no-one can get in touch with me and anything could be happening out there and I wouldn’t know! (As if no-one knows my phone number.) I love that I can send messages to my friends and family and that I can submit a story in minutes, anywhere in the world, without lining up at the post office and working out the cost of return post and so on. I can receive a short story to edit, again from anywhere in the world, and probably have it back on the same day. I do love email.

Since starting this blog though, what has really struck me and I absolutely love is the range of it all. WordPress allows me to see what countries my readers are in and, while the majority are in USA, (and, unfortunately, there’s no more information than country) some are from places I know nothing about and occasionally one pops up that I’d never heard of before–like Saint Kitts and Nevis! Heard of that one? Hi to my reader in St Kitts! So when that happens, of course, I have to get on to Google and find out a bit about the location. I’ve never been any good at geography at all but now I know that St Kitts is in the West Indies. I also know Jersey is closer to France than England and that it’s self-governed. All I knew about it before was some vague idea it was one of those islands near England.

So I’m learning my way around the world, in bits and pieces, about places I’ll never see, and I’d love to hear from you about your place–something a bit more than just Russia or just USA–whereabouts? What’s it like?

Inheritance is free on Amazon for the last time today and is already on the top twenty free list.  I’m going to be taking my books from the KDP Select program next month.

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

10 thoughts on “What’s your favourite thing about the Internet?

  1. Hi Chris,
    I’m with you. I love the instant access to information (sometimes you have to be wary of the information, but hey, that’s always been the case). I too also enjoy seeing that in some small way I’m connecting with other parts of the world.

    I live in the south-western part of Oregon. Logging is still a big part of the economy where I live and it rains…well, constantly. Although the town and area I live in are small, I’m within easy driving distance of some great things in the U.S.

    I apologize that we got off on the wrong foot when we first met. I offer no excuse other than I slipped into ass mode.

    I look forward to looking over your blog and reading more about you.

    Yours,
    William

    • Thanks for that William. How about some pics on your blog of your local area? I’m guessing it’s a pretty spot if there’s lots of trees and lots of rain. I suppose I could Google logging in Oregon and get a pretty good idea . . .
      (That’s okay by the way–I’m used to asses.)

  2. I live in Southern Arizona, which is desert and lucky to get 12″ of rain a year. But even the desert is beautiful. We hibernate in the summer here because it hits 100+ almost every day, but the other 6 or 7 months of the year more than make up for it.

  3. The best thing about the Internet is that when you’re arguing with somebody over dinner, you can pause and say “Well let’s look it up” instead of the good old-fashioned way of yelling at each other for an hour and not getting anywhere.

  4. I totally agree with you, I love Google and all its products and services and what it can do for me, I even have a Google phone (android) but I do feel we are relying on it a bit to much and feel like it’s the end of the world if I have no Internet connection

  5. I thought I was the only one who looks to see where the people who visit my site live. I get really excited when I get a new country. You will now have one from Jersey, only problem is the island is so small you’ll need a magnifying glass to see it (between UK and France if you were wondering) I love the internet especially when it lets me connect to those who wouldn’t have otherwise crossed my radar. Hooray for the internet!

  6. I’ve already looked up Jersey–had heard of it but only vaguely. I was surprised to find it’s closer to France than UK. What’s it like living on an island? Do you tend to go to the UK or France more often?

Leave a Reply

