Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Do Kids read Kindles?

16 Comments

Well, do they? Mine are all grown up and even so, they still read books, although they occasionally read on their smart phones. None of them owns a kindle. I have books for young adults and books for children on Amazon and I know adults sometimes like to read young adult novels. I’ve read quite a few myself and I think it’s important to read other books for kids if you want to write for them. But the question remains–do kids read kindles? Do many own kindles?

I would imagine they could be very handy, at school for instance, but do the younger generation prefer to read on their laptops or smart phones or do they even prefer to hold an actual book in their hands? If you have any theories on the subject, please comment. If you’d like a free book for your child, or you’d like to read a children’s book yourself, my novel, ‘Last Chance’, will be free on AmazonΒ from the 3rd to the 5th of June.

I wrote Last Chance some years ago, with pre-teens to early teens in mind, but parents of younger children may want to read it first. It has a fairly dark beginning, with the aftermath of a war, and may not be suitable for some children. It does, however, deal with hope first and foremost and I think has a good message. So much of what our children are exposed to these days seems to be very negative and any positive message is surely worthwhile.

I haven’t written anything for children for several years, although I did enjoy it. Childrens’ ebooks don’t seem to sell as well as those for adults so I think I’ll concentrate on them for now. Perhaps when all the kids get kindles in their Christmas stockings I’ll start writing for them again!

Happy Reading.

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

16 thoughts on “Do Kids read Kindles?

  1. This is something that I have thought about too and as far as I am aware, not many youngsters do have Kindles (or similar). I think they largely use their phones for everything but I also wonder if it’s because a lot of children’s books (perhaps younger children) rely on illustration which doesn’t come across as well on a Kindle. My son is 10 and has no desire to have a Kindle, it will be interesting to see what demands they make on him when he goes to senior school but I have a feeling that he will just use the internet. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi. I think the problem with dedicated eReaders like the basic Kindle, the Nook, the Kobo and so on, is that they are just that – basic! There’s nothing exciting about them. Some are trying by producing colourful, lively replacement covers and cases, but the thing remains too simple. That means that other options are more alluring, including ‘real’ books! Some of the eReader companies have attempted to create greater interest by making their machines into ‘tablets’, but they’re expensive! Why use them when a smartphone allows more functionality, and often a longer battery life. I was looking at some yesterday and some of the tablets, including eReader-based ones, have pathetic battery lives, so the things are on charge every few hours. That kind of kills the concept of ‘portable’ πŸ˜‰

    • I think you have a point about the lack of colour in kindles, especially for younger children. Not as attractive as real books! I don’t know about the tablets but my kindle battery lasts for ages.

      • My wife’s Kindle (the basic model) and my little kobo both last for days without charging, too πŸ˜‰ Even the ‘official’ specs for the tablet versions (which are usually optimistic) quote things like 8 or 10 hours :O That’s far from impressive πŸ˜‰

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I have enjoyed reading your posts! I self-published my book, “Running Through the Raindrops … Finding Joy in the Chaos of Raising Kids”, but I did have help. I hired someone to help edit, proofread and format (for kindle, paperback, etc)- mainly just be be because I couldn’t find the time πŸ™‚
    I’ll check out your books on Amazon – sounds like you have some great books πŸ™‚

  4. I actually bought a Kindle for nephew for his birthday last year. He’s twelve. But he reads a little above his age and range and being I’ve turned into his personal librarian, it was the easiest way to get books to him. And he absolutely loves it! I think, though, starting with the tween crowd, phone, tablets, etc, are an increasingly popular medium for books. So I think the above commentators are spot on regarding picture books. I think once they step beyond that stage, however, e-books are much easier through technology.

    • Good to know. He’s probably just the age I’m trying to reach with Beast of War, although it’s hard to tell since they’re all at different reading levels anyway.

  5. Good conversation starter! My 10-year-old has a kindle and has read a fair share of books on it, though she still reads paper books. What surprises me (but shouldn’t, I suppose) is how my 7-year-old reads her father’s kindle so easily. I was skeptical at first as I’m all about the feel of a real book in my hands, but she’s pretty smart with it. When she doesn’t understand words (and there are sometimes multiple on a page) she highlights them with her finger, then asks me to define them when she’s done reading that page. I suppose you could do the same thing with a traditional book and post-its, but it works for her and she’s truly reading. Would hate to see paper books disappear and to me it does not seem like a real book on a kindle. Congratulations on all of your successes. Nice!

    Want to thank you for stopping by food for fun for muffins and ice cream. Appreciate your visit very much.

    • They certainly pick up technology very quickly. I have to agree with you in a way–there’s still something about a ‘real’ book’ but it’s nice to have so many stories at our fingertips. I’ve been accessing lots of free ebooks from Amazon, where I have my own. I have one that might suit your ten year old (Beast of War) and will be out free again some time in the next few weeks.

  6. My son loves the books, The real books. Even though we have iPad, iPod, Iphone and Sony reader he still prefers to hold a book and turn the pages. Same with me.

  7. I know what you mean. It’s taken me a while to get used to the kindle but it’s very handy when travelling. No need to carry bulky books in your bag. I don’t intend to give up books though! It’s apparent from my sales figures that adults are reading kindles–I’m just not sure how many children are.

  8. We got a Kindle Fire for our kids last summer (they “helped” pick berries and collected cans to earn some of the money) and I was surprised that my son (who was 8 at the time) preferred reading a paper book over the Kindle. His sister, who is two years younger, doesn’t seem to have a strong preference either way, but ends up reading more paper books because we go to the library for the better selection.

    • Interesting, Kameron and good that they’re reading. My novel for children, ‘Beast of War’ is free on Amazon for kindle on the 23rd and 24th. You would know if your son is ready for a chapter novel.

Leave a Reply

