Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Free ebook–Inheritance.

4 Comments

I’ve put Inheritance up free on Amazon for the next four days, starting tomorrow, so have a look and let me know what you think. I hate writing blurbs; I find it very difficult to describe a story without giving too much away, but here goes. It’s set mostly in country Victoria, Australia, and begins, with Jo, in a contemporary setting. An efficient executive who has worked for the same company for years, she suddenly finds her comfortable life turned upside down when her long-term boyfriend dumps her for a younger woman. As she is wondering what to do next her uncle dies and leaves her his quaint old country cottage. Throwing her usual caution to the wind she decides to move in to the charming little Rose Cottage, but life in the country is not at all what she expected and as she learns the history of the cottage  . . . well, that’s enough said. I think it’s a good read and I’m pretty sure you won’t be bored. I happen to live in country Victoria myself but the imaginary Hope Valley is nothing like where I live.

We’ve been here over 20 years and it is home but I still find it a slightly odd feeling when I visit my family back in Mildura, where I grew up. I went to see my mother last week for her 93rd birthday and it’s good to see the town seems to be thriving. It’s kind of in the middle of nowhere-like a rather large oasis in the desert. It’s set on the beautiful Murray River, which is the border between Victoria and New South Wales; I was actually born on the New South Wales side and lived in a settlement called Curlwaa, on a citrus orchard. On this visit my sister took me for a drive and we found the property where we lived; the house has gone and so has the school we attended but there are still some vaguely familiar areas. I was only six when we left there and grew up in Mildura but I do have some memories of the old place. I vividly remember sitting at the big old dining table watching my mother pull all the gizzards from chickens and spotting the occasional soft egg amongst the mess. Very exciting! I also remember picking the middle out of the fresh bread when we walked up the long driveway to pick it up from the gate where the baker left it. Bread has never tasted better than that!

Let me know which of my books you’d like to read for free next. I’ve just had Sanctuary up and all of the others will be free at some time in the next few weeks.

http://www.amazon.com/Christine-Gardner/e/B00AY80A08

Happy reading.

 

Here are some of the reviews for Inheritance from the Amazon UK page, which don’t show up on my Author Page.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Feb 2013

By s johnson – See all my reviews

This review is from: Inheritance (Kindle Edition)

Absolutely brilliant book. Looked forward to reading it every evening. Expected the book to be quite predictable but that was not the case. Really recommended.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, 31 Jan 2013

By P. Scholtz – See all my reviews

(REAL NAME)

Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)

This review is from: Inheritance (Kindle Edition)

WELL WRITTEN . VERY GOOD READ AND I DIDN’T WANT TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN. RECOMMENDED READING A ND EASY TO FOLLOW.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 2 Mar 2013

By jill wood – See all my reviews

Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)

This review is from: Inheritance (Kindle Edition)

Expected easy going book but was pleasantly surprised although sad in places very enjoyable read not the usual predictable end.

 

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

4 thoughts on “Free ebook–Inheritance.

  1. Thank you for liking my blog and let me know about your books in amazon. I wish you the best.

  2. Thanks for stopping by Paper, Mud and Me and I’m so glad yo liked the “About” of that blog site. Good luck with your writing and selling. Aloha – pjs.

  3. Thanks for the “like” at My Awakening Life. Loved reading your blog and stories.

Leave a Reply

