Chris Gardner

The joys of self-publishing.

Survivalism and baked beans–plus a free ebook!

6 Comments

What is it with people who dig underground bunkers and fill them cans of food and bottles of water etc.,  in the hope of some catastrophic event that only they will survive? There’s been threats probably as long as humanity existed and there’ll always be something new, so I understand the fear. What I don’t understand is what sort of person would want to live in a hole in the ground, with a stockpile of weapons and ammunition, prepared to defend their baked beans against attacks from their hungry neighbours!

For starters, I do not like being underground; I went to a party a few years ago in an old underground mine (I know that sounds weird, but it’s a tourist attraction here–an old gold mine). I tried to forget the tonnes of rock and earth above our heads but couldn’t–not a good environment for me. But then the idea of living in such a world has no appeal for me anyway. If it’s not safe to live  out in the fresh air I’ll take my chances.

I’ve always been fascinated by different writer’s ideas for the future of our world–fictional ideas only. They nearly always involve disaster of some kind and it makes me wonder if we’re somehow hard-wired to expect the world to end one day. Of course fiction does need something a little more interesting than everyday life.

My novel, Sanctuary, began from an idea I had while watching a documentary on homeless kids, who were living in an underground railway system. One of the young girls was carrying a baby and I wondered what would happen to that child.

Sanctuary is set in the 26th century and there are two distinct peoples: the Centrals, who live underground and the Thrallians, who live in a converted shopping centre. The sun has become deadly and no-one can survive outside during the day. The Thrallians live a comfortable existence in their sheltered and civilized environment and most do not know of the Centrals’ existence, until two boys discover a young girl locked up in the room of one of the rulers.

Sanctuary is written for young adults but I know many adults will enjoy it as well. It’s free for 4 days from the 15th to the 18th April, so check it out and if you enjoy it please write a review for me on Amazon.  https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner

Happy reading.

Image

Author: cmsgardnerblog

I'm a writer of fiction and non-fiction, for teens and adults. I live in Central Victoria, Australia and my books are available at https://www.amazon.com/author/christinemgardner and https://www.smashwords.com/interview/ChristineGardner

6 thoughts on “Survivalism and baked beans–plus a free ebook!

  1. Intriguing story line you have created for the Sanctuary. Wish you all success with the novel. Personally speaking I continue to have a soft corner for the Sci-fi genre. So how do you see the Central s and the Thrallians reacting to each other’s existence?

    Shakti

  2. Why not read the book while it’s free, Shakti, and find out for yourself? Let me know what you think of it and if you like it a review on Amazon would be much appreciated.
    Sanctuary is free from today until the 18th. If you don’t have a kindle you can download a free cloud reader at Amazon.

    http://www.amazon.com/Christine-Gardner/e/B00AY80A08

  3. There is even a reality tv show about people who are hoarding for this apocalypse. I suppose it makes them feel as if they are doing something positive, but it would scare me to be constantly reminded. That being said, I love the show ‘Revolution’ and its theme. Your book sounds interesting and well-researched. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

